top of page
Hi There

I'm Kayla Dano! I live in Chicago, IL. For years I have wanted to create a blog, so I put it on my list of New Years resolutions for 2017. 

  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
Recent Posts

Apartment Tour

Hello & Welcome Back!

I feel like this post has been a long time coming, but we FINALLY have got everything settled! There are a few finishing touches we need to add, but I've been dying to post some pictures.

The biggest challenge has definitely been downsizing from two bedroom apartments to a one bedroom apartment, but after some (lots) of purging, everything fits like a glove. I thought that it would be much more difficult to decorate the place to fit both of our styles, but we took our time and found everything that we both loved!

Starting with one of my favorite things in our apartment. Our Bar Cart! It was not easy getting to this point (read my last post), but we finally got it finished!

Here are some closer looks! (There was more wine on the cart but..)

So ready for Summer so I can put this ice bucket, and shaker, to good use.

Our candy jar, because John has the biggest sweet tooth I've ever seen

If you turn around from the bar cart you'll see our coffee table, and our couch!

Those cubbies are hard to get good light in, but we just put different decorations in each one. It's hard to see, but knowing they are there makes me happy.

We didn't want to have any over crowding, and since I NEEDED a bar cart, we didn't have a ton of room for a table. Since we rarely used the table at my old place (we're weird) we decided to get a coffee table that lifted up to double as a table. It actually has worked perfectly, and we both love it.

Necessary coasters of course

This pillow on the couch is the Iowa City Coordinates, where John & I met

Bathroom Details. Tried to stay as neutral as possible.

Kitchen Details

I love the white cabinets + the backsplash. It looks so good together.

Bedroom Details! We wanted to keep things as neutral, and light as possible

That fur bench is everything to me.

I want to get to white furry pillows to match my bench, like I said still working on some small details. We both loved the plant photos because they are relaxing, and also remind us of Arizona. (Where we both wish we were 90% of the time)

At the end of our bed we are working on hanging up a TV, but we haven't found exactly what we are looking for yet.

Next our balcony! I am so happy we finally have a balcony so we can sit outside and enjoy nice weather, and drinks. I'm obsessed with these rugs & pillows. Thank you Target!

String lights are everything to me

And here is a wider view of the apartment. Living room, bathroom door, kitchen to the far right, then our bedroom is to the left. The cat would not move, but it's his home too, so I can't complain.

I'm so glad that we found a place that we both love, that is the perfect size, newly renovated, and truly feels like home. This first month has been amazing, and I cannot wait to continue making memories in our first home together.

Hope you all enjoyed!

XO

-Kayla


bottom of page