top of page
Hi There

I'm Kayla Dano! I live in Chicago, IL. For years I have wanted to create a blog, so I put it on my list of New Years resolutions for 2017. 

  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
Recent Posts

Fourth of July Weekend

Hello!

I hope you all had a fun & safe Fourth of July Weekend! Is anybody else as tired as I am? On the bright side, this short week flew by & it's already Friday!

As most Holiday weekends are, this one was full of fun things to do, especially around Chicago! Since we knew the weekend was going to be so busy, Friday night we just took it easy & lounged around the house (much needed).

Saturday morning our friend Jake came over, because he was going to the Dead & Co. concert at Wrigley. Once he got here we headed to Wrigley for lunch & bar hopped all afternoon. It was such a nice day outside, so we took advantage by sitting on several patios.

There's a new bar called Brickhouse in the Wrigley Park, definitely a must see!

Sunday we went back to Wrigley, and bar hopped some more with some other friends! I clearly need a serious detox.

Monday night we headed to our friend Steph's house for a BBQ! It was nice to be able to hang out outside, play bags, drink, eat, and enjoy everybody's company!

Our contribution was a Red, White, & Blue Fruit Pizza. It was so yummy 10/10 recommend bringing this to your next BBQ.

We played bags, and Steph's brother-in-law made the most delicious pork & mac-and-cheese. I'm still dreaming about it.

On Tuesday we started the day with some Red, White, and Blue Parfaits, to get into the spirit of the Holiday, and of course some Starbucks.

Then we made some appetizers & headed to our friends John & Will's rooftop to cookout, and watch the fireworks! Similar to Monday, there was group of us and we ate, drank, and played games, until the firework show started.

I used the rest of the fruit pizza ingredients to make mini fruit pizza cookies. Dare I say they were even better?

Next up: Taco Dip with a Flag on top. I thought this was soo cute, and it was also delicious.

Refried beans, Hummus + taco seasoning mixed, chunky salsa, pico, guac, cheese, cherry tomatoes, and black beans. Literally so simple!

"The Fourth of July makes me want a hotdog realllll bad" - Name that movie ;)

Once we got there I didn't even think to take more photos. But here is one view of the city from the rooftop. We could also see up to like 40 firework shows from the Western Suburbs. It was so cool to look out and see all the different fireworks going at the same time. After that we had the perfect view of the Navy Pier fireworks, and also the Belmont Harbor ones.

If you have access to a rooftop next summer, I definitely recommend watching fireworks from the rooftop!

Overall it was an amazing weekend to kick off the busy month of July! Cannot wait to post about all the upcoming things I'm doing!

XO

-Kayla


bottom of page