top of page
Hi There

I'm Kayla Dano! I live in Chicago, IL. For years I have wanted to create a blog, so I put it on my list of New Years resolutions for 2017. 

  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
Recent Posts

Denver

HI HI

Another weekend, means another new adventure! This summer has literally been so busy, and I have been traveling more than I have been in Chicago. Two weekends ago I went to Denver to visit my cousin Nicole! My parents were out there for a wedding, so of course I had to tag along!

I have never been to Colorado before (probably bc I don't like being outside), but I was so excited to visit somewhere new. I flew in late Thursday night, so I really started my trip on Friday. We woke up, and went for a walk downtown, which was a great way to see the city. It's not super big, so you can easily walk the entire thing.

This looked like a mini Washington D.C. so cute!

Capital Building

This whole street was lined with lights, and butterfly decorations. It was literally my dream street

After we walked around for awhile, we headed back to our Air BnB & got ready for lunch, and shopping. For lunch we went to this place called Machete.. I swear. They make the best tacos I've ever had. The steak taco was so good it's not even right. Unfortunately I wasn't thinking (bc I was starving) and only took pictures of the guac?? Eyerolling MYSELF. If you're in Denver this is a must.

After lunch we shopped, checked out Nicoles apartment, had some drinks, and headed to the Blue Moon Brewery. If you like Blue Moon, you HAVE to go here. It truly was the best Blue Moon I've ever tried (as it should be), and the atmosphere was amazing.

Ginormous Blue Moon Mural

After the Brewery, we went to Ted's to celebrate my Uncles Birthday! This is actually a restaurant chain, and there is one in Naperville for all of my Illinois friends. My Mom & I split the Bison Burger, which was incredible. I would 10/10 recommend going if your'e near one.

On Saturday morning we got up, and walked to Sam's for breakfast. Again.. I didn't take any pictures of the food? Get it together Kayla! This restaurant was featured on Diners, Drive Ins, and Dives, so you know that it's going to be good. It does get really crowded though, so I would recommend calling ahead! After breakfast we headed to the Red Rocks to see the Amphitheater, but it was closed for an event, which was a major bummer. There were still really pretty view though.

Most people probably know how much I hate hiking, so thankfully this one was short lol

Group shot with some of my very favorite people

After our little hike we headed over to the Coors brewery! Obviously Coors is a huge brand, but I was not prepared for how big the brewery was. It was freaking HUGE.

We walked around a little bit, and then headed up to the tap room where they give you three free beers! I was kind of surprised by this, because Coors is such a big company that they certainly don't have to give out any free beer. Nice touch Coors, I was impressed.

After Coors we headed back to get ready before dinner. For dinner we went to True Foods, which is a healthy restaurant created by a Doctor. You can tell how much thought went into every part of the menu, and the food was amazing. There is also one in Chicago, so if you're in the city I would definitely suggest going.

Squad (only missing Mitch & Kels)

I got the spicy noodle dish with Chicken, but next time I think I'd do to Tofu. I tried my Aunts, and it was so good.

That Cucumber Martini was truly what my summer drink ideas are made of.

After dinner we headed to a rooftop for some drinks. The place we went was so cute, and had such a yummy white Sangria with a popsicle in it. Again, this is what my summer drink ideas are made of.

Sunday morning was pretty laid back. We got ready, left the Air BnB, all the parents left, and me and Nicole went to VooDoo Doughnuts! These have been all over Instagram, so I wanted to try them while I was there. The line does get very long, but it moves quick. Thankfully we beat a huge rush, but I recommend going early. We got a sprinkle doughnut, and one called "the no name" it had chocolate frosting, Rice Krispie cereal, and peanut butter drizzle.. AMAZING.

After that we did what we've done every other day.. headed to a brewery! Can you see why we get along so well?

If you like craft beer I would definitely check this place out too. The beer was great, and the environment was even better!

It was a short 3 days in Denver, but we accomplished a lot! It's always great seeing family who lives so far, and lucky for me I'm heading to the airport tomorrow to pick up Nicole and my Aunt for our third visit this Summer! I can't.freaking.wait!

XO

-Kayla


bottom of page